• A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than you love yourself. ~ Josh Billings
  • I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive. ~ Gilda Radner

Cheraw Spring Festival

This weekend our hometown celebrated the 35th annual Cheraw Spring Festival.  This is a big deal in our little town.  Lots of fun, food, entertainment, arts and crafts, and history.

Watching the people walk by

The Gyllendogs enjoyed walking and mingling with the crowds of people.  We were very pleased at how well behaved they were, as this was the largest group of people they have ever experienced. Official estimates put the crowd size at 10,000 plus.

Several people stopped to pet them, and ask questions or offer us unsolicited advice on dog care.  As we walked through the throng, I noticed that quite a few folks were skittish or even afraid of them.  Well, not the Gyllendogs specifically, because they are not at all aggressive and are in fact quite friendly.  I guess a lot of people are just fearful of dogs.

taking a little break

We walked all over downtown taking in the sights and smells.  Whilst taking a break on one of the park benches near the Town Hall, suddenly police sirens started wailing.  As they passed by Jake began howling.  It was cool to see him throw back his head and howl like a wolf.  I guess even the sweetest, gentlest lab still has a trace of the wild in him.

across from the town square

Next we passed by the petting zoo.  There were some cute lambs and goats, and even some bunnies.   There was also a llama that was so scary that no kids came near it.

yikes!

Afterward, we walked down to Riverside Park.   Along the way we passed Old St. David’s Church.  This is an historic site that dates back to before the Revolutionary War.    It was used as a hospital by the British and some say you can still see bloodstains on the wooden floor.

a nice view of the church and the cemetary

Old St. David's Church

historical marker

Down by the Pee Dee River, we walked through the camp where members of the Palmetto Battalion were preparing to reenact the Battle of Cheraw later in the evening.  It was interesting to see the men and women dressed in the costumes and uniforms from 1865.  Jake and Maggie made a few more friends.

some new friends

To no one’s surprise, the Confederacy lost the war again this year.

Jake and Maggie, reporting for duty!

Finally, we strolled over to the boat landing and let the Gyllendogs swim in the river for a bit.  A few people gathered to watch them frolic in the water.  After about half an hour of swimming, we headed back up the hill and into town.

Overlooking the Great Pee Dee River

It was a long walk home, and we all were tired by the time we got there.  We had been gone for more than 4 hours, and a good time was had by all!

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for leaving the comment on my blog so that I could find your blog! 🙂 I love blogs with heavy dog content.

    I’m still looking for a place to take my Sadie to swim. She loves to wade in the stream at our park and I think she’s going to love actual swimming.

  2. Aww. Who could be afraid of such sweet dogs! 🙂

  3. Yikes! I don’t think I would pet that crazy llama either! Although I’m sure he’s very nice …

  4. Your dogs are so beautiful! We have Gracie, a yellow lab, and she loves to swim, too. Labs are so much fun!

  5. Your pets are adorable. I love animals and wish I had room for a big dog or two. My sister lives in the country and had two labs, so I got my doggie fix when I visited her.

    See you on down the road!

    Big hug, Deborah

  6. That’s cute that Jake howled at the sirens. The only time I’ve ever heard my lab howl was in his sleep. Must’ve been a heck of a dream. But our malamutes howl a lot. One will start and get all the others going. It always ends up being an impressive chorus. I love it when they howl.

  7. He may be naughty, but he is gorgeous! You can’t have everything, lol.

  8. Hmm, I seem to have posted this on the wrong entry. I meant to comment on your naughty but gorgeous cat spraying in the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

