• A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than you love yourself. ~ Josh Billings
  • I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive. ~ Gilda Radner

Carnage on the carport

Maytag is a very successful predator.  He catches many different creatures every week.  Mitzie and Loner do also, but not as much as he does.  Hardly a day goes by without us finding a morbid little gift left at our doorstep.  Now even little Bit-Bit is getting in on the act.  The other day she brought us a little garter snake.  Loner promptly took it from her and finished it off.

Bit-Bit caught it, and Loner stole it from her

Bit-Bit caught it, and Loner stole it from her

Here’s a partial list of the prey items we have discovered recently:

  • Squirrels
  • Shrews
  • Moles
  • Bats
  • Garter snakes
  • Rattlesnakes (I will have to post that story sometime)
  • Lizards
  • Frogs
  • Birds
  • Dragonflies
  • Cicadas
  • Beetles
  • Butterflies and moths

For those of you who are not squeamish, there are some fairly graphic photos after the jump.

If you are easily grossed out you might want to stop right here.

Consider yourself warned.

This lovely sight greeted me one morning last week:

Maytag Eating Squirrel 7

A true carnivore, Maytag was chowing down on his prize.

YUMMY!  This squirrel is delicious

YUMMY! This squirrel is delicious

He was pretty much oblivious to me as I snapped his picture.

Maytag Eating Squirrel 2

After I got some pictures, I encouraged Maytag to finish his meal elsewhere.

19 Responses

  1. Hi, Maytag!
    You are the best hunter I know!
    Good job!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  2. Yikes! That’s almost as nasty as the gopher that Dennis brought into the house last week!

    Rattlesnakes???

  3. Well.. what an entry to see on my first visit to your blog! LOL. Just kidding. Hey, who can blame them.. it’s a big world to a cat, one with lots of yummy creatures out there to hunt and eat.

  4. Ewww! Now I know why I don’t have cats. That is sooo gross, Maytag. Brush your teeth!

  5. Wow. Maytag. You are a great hunter. Even I have not yet caught a squirrel. I have only caught, bugs,birds and rats.

    GOOD JOB
    ~Maya~

  6. That looks totally yummers. I am not able to catch my own food like you clever cats. I never even ate a wild animal, but my Beautiful Raja mastiff sissy ate a roadkill squirrel once and really liked it.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  7. You are one awesome cat! Great hunting! Have a good week! 🙂

  8. About the only thing that Maddie has ever caught is a lizard, make that lizard(s) during the summer months. I give you credit for having the nerve to shoot a photo…I’d be like, “Get that thing elsewhere please!!!” 😀

    The doxie, on the other hand, will chase after small critters, but he has a tendency to “hunt” my vegetables. Last year when I grew some tomatoes in the front lawn, his thing was to knock off the large ripe ones, and play with it like a ball. Lizards? You can’t do much with ’em!

    Thank you for saying hello to Maddie!

  9. The circle of life………
    But eeewwww!

  10. Thats food?? It doesnt look like little brown krunchy pellets to me… I dont kill or eat critters at all but I will shore roll all over roaches after Mummy kills them! They smells grate!! Star did kill a tiny lizard once but I thinks it wuz an aksident cause she didnt eat it she jest stomped on it when it tryed to run away.

    Yer pal Dozer

  11. Maybe Loner stole it because Bit-Bit didn’t really want. I don’t blame you Bit-Bit.

  12. Oh the old days. My cats are mostly indoor. They go outside on the back patio but do not stray (usually) off of the cement. I did once have a cat that was a mighty hunter and had many a gift left on the front door mat. You had to constantly check before you stepped out of the house!! Kitty power!!

  13. Oh no!!! I love squirrels, they are so cute but we don’t have them here in our part of the world.
    Rattlesnake!!! That’s one brave (or foolish & very lucky) puddy tat

  14. Now I’m going to eat my lunch….

  15. Maytag looks like a great hunter! Although we are hounds, we have never hunted game… Maytag, you must teach us hunting!

  16. Ooh, thanks for the warning. At my old house, my cat used to bring up little baby garter snakes from the basement. She must have caught close to a dozen of them. I never saw one alive myself and have no idea how they were getting in, but I was sure glad she was around to keep them from taking over.

  17. My cats also leave all kinds of interesting (or not) things for me to see how great they are at hunting. What I want to know is why they can’t just keep them to themselves? It still freaks me out! That snake is just gross. As much as I hate them, I hate to see anything dead either. I guess I’d rather see them dead in my house than alive though. Awe!!

  18. When I lived in Washington state, my indoor/ outdoor young puss would bring raccoons and skunks through the back window with him to share his crunchies; and yes, there was a disaster eventually.

    This same bruiser, when I’d be lying on a towel at the side of the tiny house trying to get some sun – in my bikini – would be outside with me, and would walk over to me lying there with belly exposed, and drop a part dead/ part live gardner snake right on my bare skin. Of coursed I’d screm. That cat seemed to love all this. Typical guy!

    Sure love all the cat talk!

Leave a Reply

