• A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than you love yourself. ~ Josh Billings
  • I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive. ~ Gilda Radner

How Maytag Got His Name

Maytag_on_the_fence

When Mango was about three months old he was exploring on the back porch one night.  Donna had intended to wash a load of clothes, so she started the water running and added the detergent.  Then she went in to gather up a load and got distracted.

Sometime later we made a trip to the grocery and when we returned home I heard the most pitiful cries I have ever heard from a cat.  The washer had filled with water and stopped, because Donna had left the lid up.  Curious, Mango had slipped and fallen into the washer.  When I found him he was hanging on to the edge of the tub and meowing desperately for help.

I fished him out of the cold, soapy water – it was November – and wrapped him in a towel.  I dried him as best I could and then wrapped him in another towel and took him in the den and placed him on a heater vent to warm him up.  He was shivering uncontrollably and I was worried he was hypothermic.

Of course, he dried out and warmed up after a few hours and the next day he seemed no worse for wear.  We have called him Maytag ever since.   He is not quite normal, and I think maybe his misadventure with a major appliance has something to do with that…

3 Responses

  1. Pretty Cat! Our in house cat seems to get herself in those type of predicaments. Not so much falling into a washers but the “oh my” type moments

  2. I can understand why you don’t like water Maytag! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad you are safe after your incident and because my sister’s cat was too with similar I can smile at your story and share hers. The two of you would make quite a pair!

    My sister’s cat Lucky (appropriately named because we believe she has twice as many lives as normal cats) decided to hang out with what she thought was warm fluffy towels in the dryer one day and since they weren’t quite dry yet my sister continued the load unbeknownst to her with Lucky in there. (only about 5 minutes before my sister went to figure out what the thumping was). After an overnight visit at the vet for observation she came home and was perfectly fine although her tail was a little bent and her equilibrium was a little off for a week or so.

    Again glad your were ok, we think your name is cute and look forward to visiting your blog in the future!! Wonder what we’d have to call you and lucky if you lived together?!

    ~Princess & her mom

  3. Wow… That really is quite the survival story! Well done Maytag.

Leave a Reply

